Blends and Type

When I read these two quotes a couple weeks back I wanted to use them for something. For the blending assignment I used the quote “What screws us up most in life is the picture in our head of how it is supposed to be” Sometimes it’s easier to use yourself for the pictures because then you don’t have to work around anyone’s schedule. Took all of these photo’s in front of my window. Then I propped a reflector on the chair for the photo I was in to make the shadows lighter. In Photoshop I made both layers a mask. I masked out the background behind me and then I masked out some of my hair. I love how easy it is to bring back layers you’ve gotten rid of with the brush tool. The lens is visible on part of the darker parts of the cheek and neck to get it to blend it. I wanted to make it look like it was on a Polaroid image so I put the white around it and added the text to the bottom.

“The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it.” -Ansel AdamsBlending.

Self portrait. 9/29/13. 4 pm. Rexburg Idaho.f/2.5 1/160. Nikon D3100

Self portrait. 9/29/13. 4 pm. Rexburg Idaho.f/2.5 1/160. Nikon D3100

Camera. 9/28/13 4 pm. Rexburg Idaho. f/5.6 1/50

Camera. 9/28/13 4 pm. Rexburg Idaho. f/5.6 1/50

Type:

“The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it.” -Ansel Adams After finding this quote I wanted to find a picture that would match it. This quote really is true. It’s the user that makes the difference not the equipment. I followed the instructions for the Repeat & Fade Type from page seventeen. I decided to make the background text the dark blue from the reflection from one of the windows. I also really love the look of the inside of a camera lens. I didn’t love how many different colors the reflection makes.

text

Camera. 9/28/13. Rexburg Idaho. 4 pm. f/5.6 1/50 Nikon D3100

Camera. 9/28/13. Rexburg Idaho. 4 pm. f/5.6 1/50 Nikon D3100

One response to “Blends and Type

  1. Kaylie, I thoroughly enjoyed looking at your blog. I loved all of your pictures. I really liked the last picture of the tree in your color study post. The detail in the tree bark was nice. I also liked the lines of the tree trunk moving across the photo. I also really liked your blend photo of the camera and you. I like the touches of green in the reflection of the lens. I don’t know a lot, but it sure appeared that your editing was very nice. Nothing was distracting me. I liked the type photo as well. Again, the reflection in the lens is nice and the way some words stand out give a nice effect. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

